Bob Can’t Stand Cooked Cabbage…

When I first got married to Bob, I had to get used to all the vegetables he didn’t like. These dislikes were informed by a childhood spent with pressure-cooked, often smelly vegetables, which his grandma or his aunt seemed to prepare always when they knew he and his brother would be visiting. So—turnips, rutabagas, okra, eggplant, Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, and summer squashes are definitely NOT welcome in our house. I love cauliflower, so I occasionally cook some. I love summer squashes and Brussels sprouts as well. I can live without turnips and rutabagas, though I don’t hate them. Bob has begun to tolerate zucchini, but only if it is cooked in an Asian stir-fry or deep-fried. I have just started working on a hearty gumbo, so I’ve been able to deal with okra, though I still find the texture…well…sometimes problematic… I’m picky about eggplant and I just don’t cook with it often.

Granted, so many vegetables that were overcooked and mushy in the past certainly benefit from newer cooking techniques, or by judicious spicing and/or saucing. Bob does like many other vegetables, so it’s not like we only eat potatoes around here.

However, he can’t stand cooked cabbage. I’m talking about your typical type of cooked cabbage that you’ll see around this time of year, when everyone is putting out the greenery for St. Patrick’s Day.

My mom used to get a corned beef and throw it in a pot with chunky carrots, onions, potatoes, and the obligatory cabbage, which was usually cut into large wedges—you know, your standard menu for the beginning of spring. Actually, I’ve never really cared for such a simple, boiled dinner myself. Even now, I hardly ever throw a roast of anything in a pot; I’m always more inclined to stir-fry or sauté.

Bob could handle everything in the dish above except for the cabbage part. He LOVES sauerkraut. He LIVES for my particular recipe for coleslaw, which I prepare for him usually once a month. Sometimes I’ll chop leftover cabbage really finely and add it to soups or stews, because I sometimes just can’t face making the coleslaw so often. Maybe I shouldn’t let him read this posting…

Anyway, I figured with the upcoming holiday, I’d share a different cabbage recipe with you from my Halflings Cookbook. I came up with this recipe one of those times when I had cabbage leftover from making Bob’s Special Coleslaw. I like cooked cabbage, but it has to have some sort of stuff on it, it can’t just be boiled. This is a great side dish for pretty much any sort of entrée—fast and easy to make! Turn this into a more substantial dish by adding a cup or two of cooked, leftover proteins.

You can find Savory Seasoning in the Miscellaneous Recipe Section above.

Herby Cabbage Sauté

  • 2 tablespoons salted butter
  • 4 – 4½ cups green cabbage, cut into slivers (this is usually a half of an average cabbage, cored)Herby Cabbage Saute
  • 2 tablespoons dry white wine, such as Chardonnay
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 2 teaspoons Herbes de Provence
  • ½ teaspoon Savory Seasoning

Melt the butter in a medium deep skillet over rather high heat.  Add the cabbage and sauté for about 2 minutes.  Add the remaining ingredients; cover and cook over medium heat for 3 minutes.  Uncover and raise heat to high.  Sauté for 1-2 minutes until most of the liquid evaporates.  Cover and refrigerate leftovers.  Serves 4.

green chile iconA tablespoon or two of drained green chile can be added right at the end of cooking. 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

