Ginger Cherry Oatmeal Cookies and Grouchiness.

I am in such an unsettled mood. Not really unhappy or depressed. More like chronically discontent. There’s no point in itemizing everything that bugs me; much of it is pretty average and typical to (most likely) everyone on the planet. Don’t get me wrong—I also have plenty of things that are going very well. So, it’s tricky to discuss, because this is a happy-go-lucky food blog, full of comfort food, geekery, and diet-sabotaging recipes. But I was just reading this article on LinkedIn…no, not really. I was TRYING to read it, but I sort of didn’t care. The gist of the article was to stop putting on a false attitude of ‘niceness’ and to be more real. I guess it related to the workplace, but again, I really didn’t care.

I’ve found blogging (and participating in all the accompanying social media) to be a great creative outlet, but I’ve also found it to be an endless source of frustration. One tries to put one’s voice out there, yet the competition for readers’ attention is fierce. Hence the reason I can admit I merely skimmed the LinkedIn article, because let’s face it: there are a million other things to look at on the Internet. Then there are a million other things to look at on Netflix, most of which are often way more fulfilling than hanging around all of us attention-seeking bloggers and all the vicious commentators who often seem to have forgotten any sort of manners their parents might have tried to instill in them. My latest binge on Netflix has been the entire series and specials of Louie C. K.—perhaps this has exacerbated my sense of grouchiness.

Well, now we’re all connected, yet we have never been more isolated. Now we’re all informed, yet we are ever more ignorant. Now we’re all entertained; we are all pacified with our comfort-food-blogs-filled-with-recipes-we-will-probably-never-make and sharing-linking-liking-social-networks-which-are-ultimately-mind-numbing-and-boring. You know, the modern equivalent of the Roman bread and circuses.

And you’re thinking, wow, Astrid’s really a downer this week. That is, if you’ve made it this far.

You should have seen my first draft…

Just keeping it real, but also being nice about it. I’ve heard that people who consider blogging as a career/hobby should ‘bleed’ all over their writing. I feel I do this, whether I seem happy about it or not. I guess that sometimes you just have to acknowledge that you sometimes want to bitch about things. Maybe you feel the same way.

Will baking cookies cure your bad mood? Would it cure mine? Perhaps; for me, however, there is the constant evaluation over whether the joy of the baking will overcome the guilt brought on by the joy of the eating…

Haven’t had a poll in a while, so please take a moment and vote for your favorite type of cookie!

Isn’t it interesting how a well placed exclamation point suddenly makes even a grumpy blogger sound happy, right? It reminds me of the Seinfeld episode where Elaine and her boss argue over punctuation…you know the one:

 

I decided to go ahead and make some cookies!

 

Ginger Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

 

gingercherry oatmealcookies

 

  • ⅔ cup soft salted butter
  • ½ cup packed golden brown sugar
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 extra large egg
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1½ cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon nutmeg
  • 4 ounces walnuts or pecans, coarsely chopped
  • 6 ounces dried cherries *
  • 2 ounces crystallized ginger, coarsely chopped

Preheat oven to 375°. Lightly coat two large baking sheets with cooking spray. Cream butter through vanilla in a large bowl on medium speed until thoroughly mixed. Add flour through nutmeg and mix well, scraping down sides if necessary. Add the remaining ingredients and mix. Divide into 24 portions and place on sheets, about 2″ apart. Bake 9-11 minutes (I do 10), until the cookies are barely brown on the bottom. Let stand on sheets for 2 minutes; place on wire racks to cool. Cover and store at room temperature. Makes 24.

* Pretty much any other small, dried fruits will also work fine.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ginger Cherry Oatmeal Cookies and Grouchiness.

  1. What a coincidence! I just watched one of Louis C.K.’s comedy specials yesterday. He’s my favorite comic – in part due to his numerous tidbits of wisdom concerning his own toxic relationship with food (I can relate). Also interesting that, after listening to him point out every bad habit that he has, you responded by posting a recipe for a treat as wholesome as the homemade cookie.

    On a slightly related note, I kind of enjoy the “grouchiness.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

